Bulletin Board Community Development Discussion

pasayten

Re: Bulletin Board Community Development Discussion

Post by pasayten »

Our Present, Our Future
Post by rockchuck » Fri Oct 20, 2023 5:05 pm

I expect that this post will be taken down. When it is, that's kind of my point.

Blocking comment to a thread about Dr. Jennifer Sherman's important book "Dividing Paradise" is certainly within the rights of the owners of this bulletin board.

I agree with the Bulletin Board's admonition "don't be a snarky troll." I also believe that blocking discussion is very bad for our community's well-being and future.

I am a community development professional. I spent my career as a planner and policy analyst. Public policy and community development depends on a robust discussion of ideas, even if they are hard to accept and don't comport with our view of the world.

Yes, there will be many uncomfortable and inappropriate comments made. That will be unfortunate, not unexpected, but completely necessary to figuring out where we want to go as a community.

The Methow Valley community is at a crossroads. We have an opportunity to avoid some of the issues that have plagued many western amenity communities.

Suppressing discussion will not make a better community. Moderating discussion will. Please let the discussion go forward.

Respectfully,

Steve

Post by connieburke » Fri Oct 20, 2023 6:14 pm

This board is provided at no charge by a private company. They have every right to moderate it and maintain it as they see fit.

You're welcome to create your own board with whatever rules you deem appropriate. Or join the other community board already available with much less moderation (you can find it through Google).
Connie Burke - Twisp
Post by karlukkid » Fri Oct 20, 2023 6:21 pm